About the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service.

Project Image

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service is both a civil and para-military body which functions in accordance with the Police Service Act Chapter 15:01.

Over 6500 Police Officers in varying ranks and Special Reserved Police support the mandate of the Service. The T&T Police Service is organised into 9 Divisions and 18 Branches, Squads and Units.

These are: Community Police, Police Complaints, Special Branch, Guard and Emergency Branch, Criminal Investigation Division and Criminal Records Office, Organized Crime and Narcotics Unit, Homicide, Fraud Squad, Court and Process, Police Band, Mounted and Canine Branch, Police Training College, E-999, Traffic and Highway Patrol Branch, Transport and Telecom.

  • The Maintenance of Law and Order
  • Prevention and Detection of Crime
  • Prosecution of Offenders

The Police Service uses a 999 emergency telephone system. The E-999 Communications Centre functions as a Public Safety Answering Point, receiving calls from the public and dispatching them to a full response unit (police vehicles).

The Communications Centre is the nucleus for a wider telecommunications network which, when fully operational, will facilitate a faster response to public emergencies at any location in Trinidad and Tobago.

In the near future this Centre will provide the platform for information interchange between Government agencies via video, data and voice.